loader

数据

New Layer img images 安哥拉

债务历史

由于安哥拉对石油生产和出口的高度依赖(见下文),国内生产总值的增长总体上反映了油价的变动,过去两年中国内生产总值的年平均增长率为7.8%。但是,自2016年以来,安哥拉经历了年度衰退,预计到2021年才恢复增长。该国经济的多元化以及直到2000年代初才结束的长期内战的遗产,给债务积累和公众带来了麻烦。 1995年,安哥拉的债务高达GDP的220%。尽管没有邀请安哥拉参加多边减免债务的倡议,但安哥拉确实得益于中国的小额取消,该国在90年代中期逐渐减少了公共债务。

2021年的主要预测

3.2%

经济增长

3 / 8

DR的债务透明度指数

107.5%

公共债务占GDP的比率

-0.13%

预算余额

安哥拉

债务与国内生产总值之比

安哥拉的公共债务与GDP的比率在过去十年中大幅增加,在2019年突破了GDP的100%,是非洲最高的比率,也是世界十大比率之一。债务与GDP比率增加的主要原因不是债务本身增加,而是经济规模的下降,预计经济规模将在2020年进一步萎缩1.4%。COVID-19大流行正在导致进一步恶化债务占GDP的比例预计将在2020年底达到120%的峰值。

2019年,政府出台了一项为期三年的《中期债务管理战略》,其中包括新的税收措施,削减支出以及对国有公司进行私有化,以加强政府财政并确保债务保持可持续性。其影响是显而易见的,政府连续两年出现财政盈余,即政府收入超过支出。

还值得注意的是,该报告编制的安哥拉在债务透明度指数中的得分是最低的,没有发布政府合同,没有有效的信息自由规则,并且在政府网站或数据门户上可用的数据量非常有限。

随着安哥拉的债务增加,偿还债务的费用也增加了; 2010年,利息支出相当于政府总支出的3.8%,而到2017年,利息支出相当于11.4%。相比之下,政府支出中只有5.4%用于医疗保健支出:政府在医疗保健上每花费安哥拉宽扎一字,债权人就会得到两个宽扎的债款。如果债务支付的项目没有帮助安哥拉人提高生活水平,这可能意味着巨大的机会成本。

安哥拉

收入与预算余额

报告

预计向中国偿还的债务与其他债权人的债务(千美元)

在过去的二十年中,中国债务在安哥拉融资组合中的重要性不断提高,2002年,中国债务占安哥拉外债总额的不到2%,到2017年增至39%。在过去的二十年中,中国贷款的相对增长几乎一直超过整体外债的增长。 2016年,安哥拉仅在矿业领域就从中国借款176亿美元。

的确,安哥拉现在是非洲经济中最大的中国债务接受国,尤其是石油支持的融资工具-利用其丰富的石油储备作为抵押品-获得中国融资(注意:这些工具最早在苏丹使用)。

这样的资源支持贷款(RBL)在确保石油收入完全专用于(即假设)基础设施支出项目以及确保减少将资金流失到避税天堂的机会等意义上,为安哥拉公民带来了明显的好处。此外,在某些情况下,如果谈判得当,可以设计此类工具,以为借款人提供抵制低油价(或其他自然资源)价格的缓冲,自2020年3月油价暴跌以来,这一问题就变得很相关。

中国债务与GDP之比

External Debt Stock to China vs. Other Countries (USD millions)

另一方面,如前所述,与RBL相关的潜在机会成本:``安哥拉公民可能更喜欢将石油收入用于教育或卫生等其他问题。此外,此类工具并不能消除项目标书过分夸大的可能性,而这可能会导致腐败。最后,如果谈判不周,RBL可能使安哥拉特别容易受到石油价格波动的影响,尤其是2020年发生的前所未有的价格冲击。例如,如果债务义务和偿还贷款与固定的原油价格相关联,则意味着油价下跌,安哥拉将不得不向中国出口更多的石油以偿还债务。但是,目前尚不清楚安哥拉如何与中国谈判这些RBL。统计数据表明可能没有很大的缓冲。例如,2017年对中国的偿还债务占安哥拉偿还债务总成本的54%,尽管仅占所有债务存量的39%。

External Debt

img
img

$54.6bn

Acknowledgements:

WRITERS   Joe Peissel and Yike Fu   GRAPHIC DESIGNER  Kayode Animashaun
and The Development Reimagined Team

Statement on use of data:

This debt guide uses a compilation of data from the IMF World Economic Outlook, the World Bank, the AfDB, Trading Economics, Jubilee Debt Campaign, China Africa Research Initiative for Chinese loans, Christoph Trebesch et al. for China Debt Stock Database, DR’s dataset for debt cancellation and COVID spending, as well as the data from countries’ government websites (if applicable).

Plan

Health and Well being choices

55%

Listening Music

47%

Reading

36%

Gardening

25%

Sleeping

img

60%

Watching Tv

19%

Meditation

Protect

People are doing to support their fitness

During the month of January, health and fitness is top of mind for people setting resolutions for a healthy new year. Google searches for fitness peak at the beginning of the year and according to data from the International Health, Racquet, and Sportsclub Association (IHRSA), 10.8 percent of all health club members join their gyms in January.

38 %

Home Workout

9 %

Buy Equipment

7 %

Fitness App
img
Work

People plan to do at work when
restictions are lifted

40%

Avoid Handshackes and Hug

31%

Limited time spent in mettings

29%

Plan to work more from home

29%

Limite time in public places

33%

Limit visite to supermarket

30%

Do more Online Shopping

Cases

Covid-19 Cases

It is a long established fact that a reader will be distracted by the readable content of a page when looking at its layout.

COVID-19

Month on Month

Global Corona virus Impact and Implications

COVID-19 cases crossed the 15-million mark globally this week, with South Africa replacing Peru among the top five worst affected countries.

  • US
  • Brazil
  • India
  • Russia
  • 南非
  • Peru
Health

Countries Spend On Their Health Systems

Asia

Africa

America

Europe

zh_CN简体中文

loader

Data

New Layer img images ANGOLA

Debt History

Due to Angola’s high dependence on oil production and exports (see below), GDP growth has generally reflected the movement in oil prices, with annual GDP growth averaging 7.8% over the past two decades. However, since 2016 Angola has suffered annual recessions and is only forecast to return to growth in 2021. The country’s undiversified economy, along with the legacy of a prolonged civil war that only ended in the early 2000s, created problems with debt accumulation, with public debt as high as 220% of GDP in 1995. Although Angola was not invited to take part in multilateral debt relief initiatives, it did benefit from a small cancellation by China, and the country gradually decreased public debt during the mid-noughties.

Key Projections for 2021

3.2%

Economic Growth

3 / 8

DR's Debt Transparency Index

107.5%

Public debt to GDP ratio

-0.13%

Budget balance

Angola

Debt to GDP Ratio

Angola’s public debt to GDP ratio has increased substantially over the past decade, breaching 100% of GDP in 2019, the highest rate in Africa and among the ten highest in the world. The major cause of the growing debt to GDP ratio has not been increasing debt itself, but instead the decreasing size of the economy, which is forecast to shrink by a further 1.4% in 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic is leading to a further deterioration of government finances with the debt to GDP ratio forecast to peak at 120% by the end of 2020.

In 2019, the government introduced a three-year Medium-Term Debt Management Strategy, which included new tax measures, spending cuts, and privatization of state-owned companies, to strengthen government finances and ensure debt remained sustainable. The effects were noticeable, with the government running a fiscal surplus – where government revenues exceed expenditure – for two consecutive years.

It is also worth noting that Angola’s score in the Debt Transparency Index this report has compiled is amongst the lowest, with no publication of government contracts, no effective freedom of information rules, and a highly limited amount of data available on government websites or data portals.

As Angola’s debt has risen, so has the cost of servicing it; in 2010 interest payments were equivalent to 3.8% of total government expenditure, yet by 2017 they equated to 11.4%. For comparison, only 5.4% of government expenditure is allocated to health spending: for every Angolan Kwanza the government spends on health care, two Kwanza are given to creditors to pay the interest on its debt. This could represent a significant opportunity cost IF the projects paid for by the debt are not helping Angolans raise their standards of living.

Angola

Revenue and Budget Balance

Report

Projected debt service to China vs Other creditors (USD Thousands)

The importance of Chinese debt in Angola’s financing portfolio has consistently increased over the past two decades, with Chinese debt accounting for less than 2% of Angola’s total external debt stocks in 2002, increasing to 39% in 2017. This is driven by the absolute and relative increase in Chinese loans whose growth has almost consistently outpaced that of overall external debt in the last two decades. In 2016 Angola borrowed US$17.6 billion from China for the mining sector alone.

Indeed, Angola is now the biggest recipient of Chinese debt of any African economy in particular oil-backed financing instruments – using its rich oil reserves as collateral – to access Chinese finance (NB: These instruments were first used in Sudan).

Such resource-backed loans (RBLs) provide a clear benefit to Angola’s citizens in the sense of ensuring oil revenues are fully dedicated (i.e. hypothecated) to infrastructure spending projects and ensuring less chances for funds to be lost to tax havens, for instance.  In addition, in some cases, if well negotiated, such instruments can be designed to provide a buffer for borrowers against low oil (or other natural resource) prices, an issue that has become pertinent since March 2020 when oil prices plummeted.

China Debt : GDP Ratio (%)

External Debt Stock to China vs. Other Countries (USD millions)

On the other hand, there are – as mentioned earlier – potential opportunity costs associated with RBLs:  Angolan citizens may prefer the oil revenues to be spent on other issues such as education or health. In addition, such instruments do not eliminate the potential of overinflated project bids, which can be associated with corruption. Finally, if not well negotiated RBLs can leave Angola particularly vulnerable to oil price fluctuations, especially unprecedented price shocks as occurred in 2020. For instance, if debt obligations and loan repayments are linked to a fixed crude oil price that has meant as the price falls, Angola would be obliged to export larger quantities of oil to China to service its debt. However, it is not clear how Angola has negotiated these RBLs with China. Statistics suggests there may not be a significant buffer. For instance, debt service to China accounted for 54% of Angola’s total debt servicing costs in 2017, despite only accounting for 39% of all debt stocks.

External Debt

img
img

Acknowledgements:

WRITERS   Joe Peissel and Yike Fu   GRAPHIC DESIGNER  Kayode Animashaun
and The Development Reimagined Team

Statement on use of data:

This debt guide uses a compilation of data from the IMF World Economic Outlook, the World Bank, the AfDB, Trading Economics, Jubilee Debt Campaign, China Africa Research Initiative for Chinese loans, Christoph Trebesch et al. for China Debt Stock Database, DR’s dataset for debt cancellation and COVID spending, as well as the data from countries’ government websites (if applicable).

Plan

Health and Well being choices

55%

Listening Music

47%

Reading

36%

Gardening

25%

Sleeping

img

60%

Watching Tv

19%

Meditation

Protect

People are doing to support their fitness

During the month of January, health and fitness is top of mind for people setting resolutions for a healthy new year. Google searches for fitness peak at the beginning of the year and according to data from the International Health, Racquet, and Sportsclub Association (IHRSA), 10.8 percent of all health club members join their gyms in January.

38 %

Home Workout

9 %

Buy Equipment

7 %

Fitness App
img
Work

People plan to do at work when
restictions are lifted

40%

Avoid Handshackes and Hug

31%

Limited time spent in mettings

29%

Plan to work more from home

29%

Limite time in public places

33%

Limit visite to supermarket

30%

Do more Online Shopping

Cases

Covid-19 Cases

It is a long established fact that a reader will be distracted by the readable content of a page when looking at its layout.

COVID-19

Month on Month

Global Corona virus Impact and Implications

COVID-19 cases crossed the 15-million mark globally this week, with South Africa replacing Peru among the top five worst affected countries.

  • US
  • Brazil
  • India
  • Russia
  • South Africa
  • Peru
Health

Countries Spend On Their Health Systems

Asia

Africa

America

Europe

en_GBEnglish (UK)